Trust

While I exist I bring serenity,
When missing, I will bring ungodly pain.
I can be shattered in milliseconds,
but I truly take a long while to gain.

I am here, I make lovers feel safer,
I make families stronger than ever.
I make old women feel warm in their chairs,
and I’ll make bonds which will never sever.

I am gone, and all spines feel cold as ice,
stomachs churn, throats become ever so dry.
Backs turn and nobody sees eye to eye,
and the only thought in their minds is, why?

Stronger than steel, yet as fragile as dust.
Once-born, but never twice-born. I am trust.

Leave a Reply

